Food Pyramid:


  • The Food Chain:

The food pyramid is designed to make healthy eating easier. Healthy eating is about getting the right amount of food – the protein, fat, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals you need to maintain good health.
Foods containing the same type of food are grouped together on each of the food pyramid shelves. This allows you to choose different foods that you choose for a healthy diet. Having a food pyramid as a guide will help you get the right balance of nutritious foods within your calorie range. Studies show that we take many calories from foods and beverages high in fat, sugar and salt, on the top shelf of the food pyramid. They provide very little vitamins and basic minerals the body needs. Reducing this is essential for healthy eating.

  • In short, healthy eating involves:

Lots of vegetables, salad and fruit
Serving whole grains, bread, potatoes, pasta and rice at every meal – go to the varieties and to wherever possible
Some milk, yogurt and cheese
Some meat, poultry, fish, eggs, beans and nuts
Very small amount of fat, spreads and oils
A very small amount or no foods and drinks high in fat, sugar and salt.

  • Supplements:

If you eat a varied and balanced diet, then there is usually no need to take any dietary supplements – you will get everything you need from your food. The only exception to this is folic acid. All women of reproductive age who can become pregnant should take a supplement of 400μg (microgram) folic acid every day. If a woman becomes pregnant, she should continue to take the supplement during the first 12 weeks of pregnanc

Leave a Reply