The United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS, for short) is a Cabinet-level in the executive branch of the federal government. Its mission is to improve and protect the well-being of all Americans through the provision of effective health and human services, and promote advances in medicine and public health and social services.

Health and Human services:

Health and Human Services is responsible for the administration to deal with the health, social and health care programs and information technology (health IT). The administration is working with nearly a quarter of federal government spending and manages more than $ grant from all other federal agencies combined. Health and Human Services programs administered by 11 operating divisions:

Department of Children and Families (ACF)
Management of community living (ACL)
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
For Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (CDC)
Medical services and health care centers (CMS)
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Indian Health Service (IHS)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Substance Abuse and Mental Services Administration Health (SAMHSA)
Health and Human Services also includes public health in the United States Service (USPHS, the abbreviation in English), which is overseen by the Surgeon General.HEALTH AND HUMMAN SERVICES


Another important aspect of health and human services work is to oversee the implementation of certain types of health information. The agency is active in this area in many ways, including:

Provide guidance for the development of health applications;
Provide guidance to protect against attacks from the ransom.
Work on a full understanding of new and sophisticated technology, as blockchain. And
Actively IT infrastructure health information management.
Moreover, the Minister of Health and Human Services Sylvia Burwell has become a leader in the field of information technology, health care company, including speaking publicly about the adoption of electronic health records (EHR) and data blocking.

Medical services and health care centers (CMS):

CMS runs the Medicare and Medicaid programs and oversees the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), accountability and amendments Health Insurance Act (HIPAA) modifications to improve the clinical laboratory (CLIA) and more.
The provision of health and human services and medical care
System reform.
In 2009, CMS was responsible for many of the key to the advancement of health care information technology through Health Technology Law Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act tasks, including the implementation of incentives EHR programs, the definition of meaningful technology EHR use Registration Certificate Technology e-health-based and complete privacy and security of health information under HIPAA.

And it is being implemented, many of these efforts in cooperation with the National Coordinator of the Office of Information Technology in Health (ONIC), which is also under the Health and Human Services.

National Coordinator of the Office of Information Technology in Health
Former President George W. Bush created the Office of Lance in 2004, was written in the legislation under the HITECH Act. The purpose of the lance is to strengthen the national health infrastructure and monitor its development. This includes policy coordination and strategic planning for the adoption of the exchange of health information and health (PIH), and create a national network of health information and strengthen national health infrastructure.

Leave a Reply